Foreword

American football is a matter of the head. That's what they often say when describing the sport. Then the comparisons come up. Chess on grass. Coaches who direct their pawns in battle like war strategists - always trying to be one step ahead of the opponent. Players who recall from memory one of hundreds of plays and mechanically execute what is said to their ears. Yes, American football is lawn chess. But if it were marketed solely and exclusively as such, probably no one would be reading these lines on this website at this very moment, so far removed from lawn chess, because this platform would not exist.

For some years now, interest in the sport has been growing noticeably in Germany. The niche has become bigger. Private, free-to-air TV channels, web portals, newspapers, social media channels and magazines have found their place in it. Fan podcasts and programmes have emerged. Clubs, such as the German Sea Hawkers e.V., have formed. Because the premium league NFL, together with some media companies, has brought a product to Germany that offers entertainment in extremely high quality. Physical peak performances in high gloss and slow motion, from fantastic perspectives, with a highlight guarantee. It's a hype that we too - many members for decades - have fallen for.

For lawn chess, a small branch of the niche remains. Tactics, scouting, analyses are served there, but they will probably never be able to compete with pure highlight clips. Because the more complex it becomes, the smaller the audience.

Complexity, on the other hand, cannot be blamed for the dangers of the sport of American football. Nevertheless, the undoubted risks that athletes expose themselves to - for their own livelihood, but also for our pleasure - seem to get lost in the hype. Because this reality is uncomfortable. We, too, are fans first and foremost because we are fascinated by American football and especially the Seattle Seahawks and want to be entertained by it.

But this is precisely why we want to promote conscious consumption and an enlightened approach to our favourite sport in this project entitled "Headache" - and not suppress the negative aspects that are undoubtedly a part of American football.

Not only since the cinema film "Concussion" (German title: "Erschütternde Wahrheit") with Will Smith has neurological damage, which can be caused by collisions on the field, been a topic in American football. Concussions, head impacts and the possible resulting late effects (keyword CTE) are, along with the overly complex tactics board, the greatest existential threat to a sport that captivates fans with superhuman athleticism and raucous spectacle.

We at the German Sea Hawkers e.V. want to deal with this topic - in a form that has never been seen before in Germany. In this smorgasbord of stories, films, pictures, quotes and links, we approach an aspect of American football that awaits the players as soon as they step out of the spotlight into the darkness of the stadium catacombs. As soon as they no longer stand cheering in the end zone, but have to leave the field with a stooped posture on the back of a golf cart.

Many aspects that come up in this project have a connection to the Seattle Seahawks, some also to American football in Germany. Because our interest in what our favourite players bring to the field Sunday after Sunday should not stop at the screen through which we receive the game in our living room. This interest should inspire us to think about consequences, to classify incidents and to consume responsibly.

Because American football is all about the head.

Entry

On the following pages you can click, read, look, browse, learn, question, listen. Our small collection does not claim to be complete, nor does it make definitive statements about head injuries. We wish you an informative and entertaining time with the project "Headache".

The first part is a film contribution.

This film by director Josh Begley and producer Laura Poitras is a compilation of all concussions reported in the NFL during the 2017 season. The use of slowdown and rewind in combination with monotone background music dramatises the action while giving a good insight into the enormous forces at work when players' bodies crash into each other or onto the (artificial) turf.

The visible collisions all resulted in concussions. Late effects, such as those recognisable in CTE, can neither be confirmed nor ruled out on the basis of this diagnosis. In order to be able to classify head injuries, these two basic terms must first be distinguished from each other.

Concussion

A concussion is referred to in technical jargon as a mild traumatic brain injury, i.e. a brain injury. A violent blow or impact causes temporary damage to the brain, which is associated with sudden loss of consciousness, nausea or vomiting, among other things. Craniocerebral traumas are divided into mild, moderate and severe.

CTE

CTE, written out: Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy, also known as Dementia pugilistica or Boxer Syndrome, is caused, according to current scientific knowledge, by regular concussions that damage the brain mass. The possible consequences range from chronic pain to dementia and depression. So far, the disease can only be detected in deceased persons.

Science perspective

Neuropathologists Dr Ann McKee and Dr Bennet Omalu are the faces of the branch of science that has been studying head injuries in American football for years. Their publications put the NFL on the spot after the turn of the millennium and have since led to the league no longer denying a connection between its sport and head injuries.

Three publications from recent years are worth recommending. The Time dossier "War of the Minds" by Amrai Coen, which features Seattle Seahawks tight end Ed Dickson and also looks at the not-so-easy relationship between the two prominent scientists. The New York Times storytelling project on a 2017 study by McKee, shown in the image below. And the Hollywood film "Concussion" starring Will Smith, which provides an entertaining first overview of the topic.

First thematic block

The editorial team of the German Sea Hawkers e.V. has compiled content to give fans of American football a new perspective on the sport. The following four stories of this project are about Russell Wilson, the supposedly unbreakable playmaker of the Seattle Seahawks, about an initiative for clean defending called "Hawk Tackling", about Erich Grau, a pioneer of German American football and about the experiences gained by Dr Ulrich Grünwald, association doctor in the AFVD, in the medical field of the sport.

Head thing: Russell Wilson

Headache: Hawk Tackling

Headache: Erich Grau

Headache: Dr Ulrich Grünwald

Second thematic block

Building on the first four thematic complexes, here follow further aspects that are related to head injuries or even result from them. These include the myth about a supposed miracle water as well as new helmet technologies and two foundations that do similar work for different reasons.

Headache: Recovery Water

Headache: Hilinski's Hope

Headache: Protect your head!

Headache: Vicis

Closing words

American football is a brutal sport in which monstrous bodies collide at extreme speeds. This has not only been known since the publication of this project. Neither does this smorgasbord have the purpose of disseminating new knowledge. The aim of "Kopfsache" was and is to create an understanding of the risks of the sport that so fascinates us all, based on selected content. Hopefully, this has been at least partially successful.

The editorial team is happy to receive suggestions and criticism at medien@germanseahawkers.com.

About the project

"Kopfsache" is a project of the German Sea Hawkers e.V. for a responsible approach to and enlightened consumption of the sport of American football. The idea was born in the 2018 offseason and the interviews were conducted in the summer of 2018. Our thanks go to Dr Ulrich Grünwald and Erich Grau, who took the time to answer our questions.

Camera & Editing: Timo Czerwonka

Idea, texts & realisation: Maximilian Länge

Vorwort

American Football ist Kopfsache. Das heißt es oft, wenn die Sportart beschrieben wird. Dann fallen die Vergleiche. Schach auf Rasen. Trainer, die wie Kriegsstrategen ihre Spielfiguren in der Schlacht lenken – immer bedacht darauf, im Kopf einen Schritt weiter zu sein als der Gegner. Spieler, die aus dem Gedächtnis einen von hunderten Spielzügen abrufen und mechanisch das ausführen, was ihnen aufs Ohr gesagt wird. Ja, American Football ist Rasenschach. Doch wenn es ausschließlich und allein als solches vermarktet würde, würde vermutlich niemand in diesem Moment auf dieser Website diese dem Rasenschach so fernen Zeilen lesen, weil es diese Plattform nicht gäbe.

Seit einigen Jahren wächst das Interesse an der Sportart in Deutschland spürbar. Die Nische ist größer geworden. Private, kostenlos empfangbare TV-Sender, Webportale, Zeitungen, Social-Media-Kanäle und Magazine haben darin ihren Platz gefunden. Fan-Podcasts und -Sendungen sind entstanden. Vereine, wie die German Sea Hawkers e.V. einer sind, haben sich gebildet. Weil die Premium-Liga NFL gemeinsam mit einigen Medienhäusern ein Produkt nach Deutschland gebracht hat, das Unterhaltung in extrem hoher Qualität bietet. Körperliche Höchstleistungen in Hochglanz und Zeitlupe aufbereitet, aus fantastischen Perspektiven, mit Highlight-Garantie. Ein Hype, dem auch wir – viele Mitglieder schon seit Jahrzehnten – verfallen sind.

Für Rasenschach bleibt ein kleiner Zweig der Nische. Taktik, Scouting, Analysen werden dort bedient, sie werden aber wohl nie mit puren Highlight-Zusammenschnitten mithalten können. Denn je komplexer es wird, desto kleiner das Publikum.

Komplexität kann man den Gefahren der Sportart American Football wiederum nicht vorwerfen. Trotzdem scheinen die zweifelsfrei existenten Risiken, denen die Sportler sich – für den eigenen Lebensunterhalt, aber auch zu unserem Vergnügen – aussetzen, im Hype unterzugehen. Weil diese Realität unbequem ist. Auch wir sind in erster Linie Fans, weil wir von American Football und speziell den Seattle Seahawks fasziniert sind und uns davon unterhalten lassen wollen.

Gerade deshalb aber wollen wir in diesem Projekt unter dem Titel “Kopfsache” für einen bewussten Konsum und aufgeklärten Umgang mit unserer Lieblingssportart werben – und die negativen Aspekte, die zweifelsohne ein Teil von American Football sind, nicht verdrängen.

Nicht erst seit dem Kinofilm “Concussion” (deutscher Titel: “Erschütternde Wahrheit”) mit Will Smith sind neurologische Schäden, die durch Kollisionen auf dem Spielfeld hervorgerufen werden können, ein Thema im American Football. Gehirnerschütterungen, Kopfstöße und daraus möglicherweise resultierende Spätfolgen (Stichwort CTE) sind neben der zu komplexen Taktiktafel die größte Existenzbedrohung einer Sportart, die Fans durch übermenschliche Athletik und rauschendes Spektakel in ihren Bann zieht.

Wir von den German Sea Hawkers e.V. wollen uns mit diesem Thema beschäftigen – in einer Form, wie es sie in Deutschland bislang noch nicht gab. In diesem Sammelsurium aus Geschichten, Filmen, Bildern, Zitaten und Links nähern wir uns einem Aspekt des American Football, der auf die Spieler wartet, sobald sie aus dem Scheinwerferlicht ins Dunkel der Stadionkatakomben schreiten. Sobald sie nicht mehr jubelnd in der Endzone stehen, sondern mit gebückter Haltung auf der Ladefläche eines Golfkarts das Spielfeld verlassen müssen.

Viele Aspekte, die in diesem Projekt auftauchen, haben einen Bezug zu den Seattle Seahawks, einige auch zu American Football in Deutschland. Denn unser Interesse für das, was unsere Lieblingsspieler Sonntag für Sonntag auf dem Spielfeld einbringen, sollte nicht an dem Bildschirm aufhören, über den wir das Spiel in unserem Wohnzimmer empfangen. Dieses Interesse sollte uns anregen, über Konsequenzen nachzudenken, Vorfälle einzuordnen und verantwortungsbewusst zu konsumieren.

Denn American Football ist Kopfsache.

Einstieg

Auf den folgenden Seiten könnt Ihr klicken, lesen, anschauen, stöbern, lernen, hinterfragen, zuhören. Unsere kleine Sammlung erhebt weder einen Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit noch trifft sie endgültige Aussagen über Kopfverletzungen. Wir wünschen Euch eine erkenntnisreiche und kurzweilige Zeit mit dem Projekt “Kopfsache”.

Den Anfang macht ein Filmbeitrag.

Dieser Film von Regisseur Josh Begley und Produzentin Laura Poitras ist ein Zusammenschnitt aller Gehirnerschütterungen, die in der Saison 2017 in der NFL gemeldet wurden. Der Einsatz von Verlangsamung und Zurückspulung in Kombination mit monotoner Hintergrundmusik dramatisiert das Geschehen und gibt gleichzeitig einen guten Einblick, welche enormen Kräfte wirken, wenn die Körper von Spielern aufeinander- oder auf den (Kunst-)Rasen krachen.

Die sichtbaren Kollisionen führten allesamt zu Gehirnerschütterungen. Spätfolgen, wie sie beispielsweise bei CTE erkennbar sind, lassen sich anhand dieser Diagnose weder bestätigen noch ausschließen. Um Kopfverletzungen einordnen zu können, müssen zunächst diese zwei grundlegenden Begriffe voneinander abgegrenzt werden.

Gehirnerschütterung

Eine Gehirnerschütterung wird in der Fachsprache als leichtes Schädel-Hirn-Trauma bezeichnet, also eine Hirnverletzung. Dabei bewirkt eine heftiger Schlag oder Stoß eine vorübergehende Schädigung des Gehirns, die unter anderem mit plötzlicher Bewusstseinsstörung, Übelkeit oder Erbrechen verbunden ist. Schädel-Hirn-Traumata werden in ihrer Ausprägung unterteilt in leicht, mittelschwer und schwer.

CTE

CTE, ausgeschrieben: Chronisch-traumatische Enzephalopathie, auch bekannt als Dementia pugilistica oder Boxer-Syndrom, wird nach heutigem Stand der Wissenschaft durch regelmässige, die Hirnmasse beschädigende Erschütterungen hervorgerufen. Die möglichen Folgen reichen von chronischen Schmerzen über  Demenz bis hin zu Depression. Bisher kann die Krankheit nur bei Verstorbenen nachgewiesen werden.

Perspektive Wissenschaft

Die Neuropathologen Dr. Ann McKee und Dr. Bennet Omalu sind die Gesichter des Wissenschaftszweigs, der sich seit Jahren mit Kopfverletzungen im American Football beschäftigt. Ihre Veröffentlichungen brachten die NFL nach der Jahrtausendwende in Bedrängnis und haben inzwischen dazu geführt, dass die Liga einen Zusammenhang zwischen ihrer Sportart und Kopfverletzungen nicht mehr leugnet.

Drei Veröffentlichungen aus den vergangenen Jahren sind empfehlenswert. Das Zeit-Dossier “Krieg der Köpfe” von Amrai Coen, in dem der Tight End der Seattle Seahawks, Ed Dickson, vorkommt und auch die nicht ganz einfache Beziehung der zwei prominenten Wissenschaftlern zueinander beleuchtet wird. Das im unteren Bild dargestellte Storytelling-Projekt der New York Times zu einer Studie aus dem Jahr 2017 von McKee. Und der Hollywood-Film “Erschütternde Wahrheit” (englisch: “Concussion”) mit Will Smith in der Hauptrolle, der einen kurzweiligen ersten Überblick zur Thematik liefert.

Erster Themenblock

Die Redaktion der German Sea Hawkers e.V. hat Inhalte zusammengestellt, um Fans von American Football einen neuen Blick auf die Sportart zu ermöglichen. Die folgenden vier Geschichten dieses Projekts handeln von Russell Wilson, dem vermeintlich unkaputtbaren Spielmacher der Seattle Seahawks, von einer “Hawk Tackling” genannten Initiative für sauberes Verteidigen, von Erich Grau, einem Pionier des deutschen American Football und von den Erfahrungen, die Dr. Ulrich Grünwald, Verbandsarzt im AFVD, im medizinischen Bereich der Sportart gesammelt hat.

Kopfsache: Russell Wilson

Kopfsache: Hawk Tackling

Kopfsache: Erich Grau

Kopfsache: Dr. Ulrich Grünwald

Zweiter Themenblock

Aufbauend auf den ersten vier Themenkomplexen folgen hier weitere Aspekte, die im Zusammenhang mit Kopfverletzungen stehen oder gar daraus resultieren. Dazu gehört sowohl der Mythos um ein vermeintliches Wunderwasser als auch neue Helm-Technologien und zwei Stiftungen, die aus unterschiedlichen Gründen ähnliche Arbeit leisten.

Kopfsache: Recovery Water

Kopfsache: Hilinski’s Hope

Kopfsache: Schütz Deinen Kopf!

Kopfsache: Vicis

Schlusswort

American Football ist ein brutaler Sport, in dem monströse Körper mit extremen Geschwindigkeiten aufeinanderprallen. Das ist nicht erst seit der Veröffentlichung dieses Projekts bekannt. Genauso wenig hat dieses Sammelsurium den Zweck, neue Erkenntnisse zu verbreiten. Ziel von “Kopfsache” war und ist es, auf Basis von ausgewählten Inhalten ein Verständnis zu schaffen für die Risiken der Sportart, die uns alle so fasziniert. Hoffentlich ist dies zumindest teilweise gelungen.

Die Redaktion freut sich unter medien@germanseahawkers.com über Anregungen und Kritik.

Über das Projekt

“Kopfsache” ist ein Projekt der German Sea Hawkers e.V. für einen verantwortungsbewussten Umgang mit und aufgeklärten Konsum der Sportart American Football. Die Idee dazu entstand in der Offseason 2018. Die dazugehörigen Interviews wurden im Sommer 2018 geführt. Unser Dank gilt Dr. Ulrich Grünwald und Erich Grau, die sich für unsere Fragen Zeit nahmen.

Kamera & Schnitt: Timo Czerwonka

Idee, Texte & Umsetzung: Maximilian Länge

Menü