Headache: Vicis

You can't tell at first glance, but wide receiver Doug Baldwin of the Seattle Seahawks is wearing it. His teammate, quarterback Russell Wilson, does the same. And Golden Tate, the former teammate of Wilson and Baldwin, also wears it on his head. The Vicis Zero1. For the third year in a row, the helmet - a start-up project by scientists from Washington State - has come in first in the NFL and NFLPA rankings after extensive testing.

What is special about Vicis helmets? The exterior. The shell of the head protection looks exactly the same as other helmets, but in a collision it reacts completely differently to that of conventional models. The softer outer material absorbs energy because it yields on impact. The inner material, a foam-like substance, also absorbs impact and improves comfort to boot. The video of the helmet:

Doug Baldwin, who has been a patron of the start-up, thinks the Vicis helmet is a revolutionary development. It feels heavier, but also more comfortable. By opting for a helmet that was not produced by one of the market leaders Riddell or Schutt, the wide receiver embarked on a path a few years ago that has since been followed by many other NFL professionals, but also by entire high schools, for example, because they want to ensure the best possible protection for the head.

And the trend continues. About 50 per cent of NFL players switched to a better-rated helmet in 2018, according to league statistics. From Week 17 of last season, 74 per cent of the pros wore a helmet that ranked in the top category. The teams of the 32 players still wearing poorly rated helmets were notified by the NFL.

In the meantime, these helmets have been banned and the equipment managers of the affected teams have been informed. Incidentally, the 32 players who now have to choose new head protection include New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady.

"You could save the game of American football with this," said Doug Baldwin when he put the Vicis Zero1 2017 on for testing. And he meant it.

Weiterlesen:

Headache

Kopfsache: Vicis

Man kann es auf den ersten Blick nicht erkennen, doch Wide Receiver Doug Baldwin von den Seattle Seahawks trägt ihn. Sein Teamkollege, Quarterback Russell Wilson, tut’s ihm nach. Und Golden Tate, der ehemalige Mitspieler von Wilson und Baldwin hat ihn ebenfalls auf dem Kopf. Den Vicis Zero1. Im dritten Jahr in Serie ist der Helm – ein Start-up-Projekt von Wissenschaftlern aus dem US-Bundesstaat Washington – im Ranking von NFL und NFLPA nach ausgiebigen Tests auf Platz eins gelandet.

Was ist besonders an den Helmen von Vicis? Das Äußere. Die Schale des Kopfschutzes sieht zwar genau gleich aus wie bei anderen Helmen, doch beim Zusammenstoß reagiert sie völlig anders als die herkömmlicher Modelle. Das weichere Außenmaterial absorbiert Energie, weil es beim Aufprall nachgibt. Das Innenmaterial, eine schaumähnliche Substanz, fängt ebenfalls Stöße ab und verbessert dazu noch den Tragekomfort. Das Video zum Helm:

Doug Baldwin, der seit als Schirmherr für das Start-up auftritt, hält den Vicis-Helm für eine revolutionäre Entwicklung. Dieser fühle sich zwar schwerer an, aber auch bequemer. Mit der Entscheidung für einen Helm, der nicht von einem der Marktführer Riddell oder Schutt produziert wurde, schlug der Wide Receiver vor einigen Jahren einen Weg ein, auf den ihm inzwischen viele weitere NFL-Profis, aber auch beispielsweise ganze High Schools gefolgt sind, weil sie den Schutz des Kopfes bestmöglich gewährleisten wollen.

Und der Trend hält an. Ungefähr 50 Prozent der NFL-Spieler wechselten laut Statistik der Liga im Jahr 2018 zu einem besser bewerteten Helm. Von Week 17 der vergangenen Saison an trugen 74 Prozent der Profis einen Helm, der in der Top-Kategorie rangierte. Die Teams der 32 Spieler, die noch schlecht bewertete Helme tragen, wurden von der NFL darüber informiert.

Inzwischen wurden diese Helme verboten und die Equipment-Manager der betroffenen Mannschaften informiert. Zu den 32 Spielern, die nun einen neuen Kopfschutz auswählen müssen, gehört übrigens auch der Quarterback der New England Patriots, Tom Brady.

“Ihr könntet damit das Spiel American Football retten”, sagte Doug Baldwin, als er den Vicis Zero1 2017 für Tests aufsetzte. Und er meinte das ernst.

Weiterlesen:

Kopfsache

Menü