The Seahawks start the 2022 offseason

Seahawks helmet lies on the pitch

After the absolutely disappointing season of the Seattle Seahawks and before Super Bowl LVI, we want to start the offseason 2022 and look ahead. The owner and the front office have to make important decisions in the coming weeks and months in order to be able to put a competitive coaching staff and the right team on the field in the 2022 season. Personnel, injuries, finances, game plan - here comes the overview including the outlook.

Free Agents

The good news first: The Seahawks have the most important pillars of their team under contract again in 2022. The bad news is that fans will have to be prepared to see one or two of their favourite players leave Seattle this offseason. S Quandre Diggs has earned his regular place in the secondary with great performances in recent years. But other teams have probably noticed that, which will drive up the price of the free safety considerably. The only question is how much his injury will affect his market value. So the question is: Can the Seahawks afford two expensive safeties next to each other? Both starting tackles will also become free agents, so the question here is how they want to go into the future and who they extend to do so. And then, of course, there are the discussions about possible star departures via trade or cut...

The following 30 Seahawks players will become Over The Cap Free Agents when the new league year begins on March 16, according to Over The Cap:

  • T Duane Brown (UFA)
  • S Quandre Diggs (UFA)
  • TE Gerald Everett (UFA)
  • T Brandon Shell (UFA)
  • C Ethan Pocic (UFA)
  • RB Rashaad Penny (UFA)
  • DT Al Woods (UFA)
  • CB Sydney Jones (UFA)
  • QB Geno Smith (UFA)
  • RB Alex Collins (UFA)
  • DT Robert Nkemdiche (UFA)
  • CB Ryan Neal (ERFA)
  • C Kyle Fuller (RFA)
  • EN Rasheem Green (UFA)
  • CB Blessuan Austin (RFA)
  • G Phil Haynes (RFA)
  • DT Bryan Mone (ERFA)
  • WR Penny Hart (ERFA)
  • WR John Ursua (ERFA)
  • S Tanner Muse (ERFA)
  • CB John Reid (ERFA)
  • TE Will Dissly (UFA)
  • CB D.J. Reed (UFA)
  • T Jamarco Jones (UFA)
  • S Nigel Warrior (ERFA)
  • CB Gavin Heslop (ERFA)
  • DT Marcus Webb (ERFA)
  • LB Jon Rhattigan (ERFA)
  • G Dakoda Shepley (ERFA)
  • RB Adrian Peterson (SFA)

They are divided into Unrestricted, Restricted, Exclusive Rights and Street Free Agents. Unrestricted Free Agents (UFA) can negotiate with other teams without restrictions from the start of the new league year. Players who have Restricted Free Agents (RFA) status can also negotiate with other teams. However, if an RFA has reached an agreement with a new team, the previous team also has the chance to make an offer, offering the RFA the same contract, under the same conditions. In this case, the player is obliged to accept the offer from his previous team. If the offer from the previous team is not as good as the offer from the new team, the previous team will receive a draft pick from the player's new team. The amount of the draft pick is determined by the previous team in the run-up to the free agency phase.

Exclusive Rights Free Agents (ERFA) are players to whom a franchise has special rights. The team can therefore offer them a contract at minimum conditions in order to bind them. Street Free Agents (SFAs), unlike UFAs, can sign with a teamatany time before the start of the new league year once they are no longer under contract. Their old contracts (usually Practice Squad or Injured List) expired when the season ended.

From the Practice Squad of the past season, the Seahawks have already signed several players to a future contract for 2022. These are:

  • DT Myles Adams
  • WR Matt Cole
  • LB Aaron Donkor
  • T Greg Eiland
  • WR Aaron Fuller
  • DT Jarrod Hewitt
  • CB Mike Jackson
  • WR Cade Johnson
  • G Pier-Olivier Lestage
  • WR Cody Thompson
  • LB Lakiem Williams
  • DT Niles Scott

Injuries

  • SS Jamal Adams: Our strong safety was able to play most of the season without any complaints and also showed appealing performances, both in the box and in coverage. The many tackles, pass breakups and, surprisingly, two interceptions speak for themselves. However, week 13 came against the San Francisco 49ers and Adams tore his labrum (so-called glenoid lip in the shoulder) again, which was already affected last season. We have to hope that he recovers completely and that this injury is not permanent.
  • RB Chris Carson: Unfortunately, our first running back did not have a good season. Already in the game in week 4 against the 49ers he injured his neck and couldn't play anymore after that. In week 9 it became clear that he would have to have surgery on his neck and that this procedure would end his season. Whether and how much this procedure will affect him in the future is still completely unclear. Carson's injury misery of the last few years unfortunately continues, so far he has not been able to play in any of his five seasons for the Seahawks. The four games from this season are the negative highlight so far. Let's hope for the best for the future!
  • CB Tre Brown: The patella tendon prevented the dream rookie season of our fourth-round pick from this year's draft. After strong starts in the preseason and even stronger five appearances in the regular season, Brown unfortunately suffered a serious injury and had to have surgery right away. Patellar tendon ruptures are one of the more complex injuries in football, with recovery times of up to half a year. We have to hope that he will have fully recovered by the start of the training camps and will be able to train again without any problems.
  • FS Quandre Diggs: In the last snaps of the season, Diggs dislocated his ankle and broke his fibula. The operation went well and - luck of the draw - it was probably a smooth and therefore not very complicated fracture. According to NFL insider Ian Rapoport, he could be back on the field in four months, just in time for the first training camps. Particularly bitter for Diggs: He is going into free agency - a similar situation to that of Earl Thomas.
  • Other injured (no claim to completeness): DB Marquise Blair unfortunately suffered another serious injury early in the season - this time tearing his kneecap. Particularly unfortunate because Blair had actually played a good season so far and had his regular nickel spot. LB Ben Burr-Kirven also suffered a serious injury early on. A torn ACL is not an injury to be trifled with. And so it remains to be seen if Hometownkid BBK can come back fully in 2022. WR John Ursua suffered the same injury - in the same week. Nothing further is known about Ursua's healing process so far either. Hopefully, he can make a full return in 2022. The injuries to LB Bobby Wagner and QB Russell Wilson appear to be less significant going forward. Wagner strained several ligaments in his knee, but they will heal normally. Wilson's injured middle finger looked better by the week. For both, it was simply time for an offseason.

Coaching Staff

More than a week after the end of the season, the first rumours about the Seattle Seahawks' coaching staff emerged: According to insider Corbin Smith (Sports Illustrated) - and this is the most important news - Head Coach Pete Carroll will stay in Seattle. Whether this is the right decision by owner Jody Allen remains to be seen. However, she seems to remain confident in her vice president of football operations even after a bitter season.

Instead, defensive coordinator Ken Norton Jr. seems to have been hit and will have to leave the Seahawks. For the defence, the season was a rollercoaster of emotions. Although they allowed relatively few points compared to the other teams, they allowed short yardage and kept drives alive. The "bend but don't break" mentality seemed to have been Norton's top maxim and led to adventurous time of possession statistics. That's exactly what wasn't enough. After three years as defensive coordinator (and six years as linebackers coach before that), his chapter in Seattle ends.

On the other side of the ball, the front office seems to have been rather satisfied with the developments of the offence. Offensive coordinator Shane Waldron's ideas for the game flashed through again and again (e.g. games against the Colts, 49ers, Cardinals). On the other hand, our new OC was not able to sustainably improve the construction sites on 3rd down and the creativity in playcalling. He seems to have been given a kind of puppy protection here (also due to the two OC changes in the two years before), which secures his place on the sidelines for now. One thing is clear: a clear improvement in performance must be visible here in 2022.

Among the assistant coaches, (Defensive) Passing Game Coordinator Andre Curtis will have to take his hat off. Originally a secondary coach, Curtis has been on the Seahawks' coaching staff for six years in various positions. Now his position is to be filled. Another name is being bandied about elsewhere at Lumen Field: D-line coach Clint Hurtt seems to be a contender for the now vacant defensive coordinator job. While the Seahawks also want to consider outside candidates, the front office appears to want to promote the four-year assistant DC. Other changes in the assistant coaching ranks are possible, this will largely depend on how the coaching search goes with the other NFL teams. In any case, there are no rumours yet.

UPDATE: Meanwhile, the separation of Ken Norton Jr. and Andre Curtis is official. Rumour has it that Seattle has also asked to interview Ed Donatell, the current DC of the Denver Broncos.

Review and analysis

Around the Super Bowl LIV, the editorial team takes a detailed look at a few topics that were the talk of the Seahawks in the past season. Here is the overview (will be expanded as soon as the texts are available):

Finance

The Seahawks are currently around 56 million US dollars under the salary cap for 2022 - if this is increased to 208 million for the coming league year, as Over The Cap currently forecasts. Seattle would then be in 7th place in the league in purely financial terms, but that is also sorely needed with the extensions that are pending.

Fortunately, the contracts of S Jamal Adams and P Michael Dickson have already been extended and are not up for renewal this year. But especially the extensions in the secondary (S Quandre Diggs and CB DJ Reed, possibly also CB Sydney Jones) and in the O-line (T Duane Brown and T Brandon Shell) will be expensive and the question arises who actually earned what money from this list.

With a view to the 2021 season, it is also urgently necessary to strengthen the squad in terms of width and depth. A new centre is desperately sought and the third wide receiver is not yet ideally filled. There are also gaps to be filled on the defence side. Especially in the rotation of the D-line, at linebacker (regardless of all considerations, Bobby Wagner is not getting any younger...) and at cornerback, there are still gaps open.

Over the offseason, we will probably be haunted by the following two rumours that already emerged at the end of the regular season: Russell Wilson will leave the Seahawks via trade and/or Bobby Wagner will be cut. The former is mainly due to the discussions from the previous offseason, the latter is due to the age of our star LB. Wagner's performances have continued to be good, but not as top-notch as they have been in recent years. He is trending downwards rather than upwards and the contract is very expensive at around 20 million dollars. A cut could save over 16 million. That has to be at least worth thinking about.

It is also worth taking a look at the rather expensive contract of K Jason Myers, who could save around 4 million dollars in the event of a cut. The performances this season were simply too weak and you can always get a halfway solid veteran kicker at the minimum.

NFL Draft 2022

After a disappointing regular season, it's clear that the Seahawks would be picking 10th in the 2022 NFL Draft if they hadn't given their first-round pick in the trade for Jamal Adams to the New York Jets. As it is, however, the situation isn't particularly pleasant, as such a high pick (quite unique in recent years after all) would have given them the opportunity for super support from the start of the upcoming season. The pick in round six was also given to the Jaguars (trade for Sydney Jones).

So we have a total of six picks available in the upcoming draft:

  • Round 2, #9: Seattle
  • Round 3, #8: Seattle
  • Round 4, #4: Seattle, via New York Jets (part of Adams deal).
  • Round 4, #11: Seattle
  • Round 5, #10: Seattle
  • Round 7, #8: Seattle

Compensatory picks for the 2022 NFL Draft will not be released until early March, as usual, so the final draft order has not yet been determined and we only know which picks we will have in which round.

Season 2022

Let's now look ahead. These are the opponents in the coming season:

At home in Lumen Field, the Seahawks will host the Atlanta Falcons, Carolina Panthers, Denver Broncos, Las Vegas Raiders*, New York Giants, New York Jets and NFC West rivals. Away from home, Seattle will play the New Orleans Saints, Tampa Bay Buccaneers*, Kansas City Chiefs*, Los Angeles Chargers, Detroit Lions and, as always, NFC West teams in 2021.

The final fixture list is usually published in mid-May and then promptly posted here on the website. After the 17th game in the past season was the away game at the Steelers, we have one more home game this year.

*Playoff teams 2021

Timetable

Finally, here is a plan with all the important dates for the 2022 season:

  • 22 February to 8 March 2022: Franchise Day Phase
  • 14 to 16 March 2022: Negotiations with Unrestricted Free Agents
  • 16 March 2022: All contracts expire; free agency, trade phase and the new league year begin at 9 p.m. German time
  • Mid-May 2022: Announcement of match schedule
  • 18 April 2022: Start of offseason training activities
  • 28 - 30 April 2022: NFL Draft
  • July/August 2022: Training Camp
  • 4 August 2022: Preseason kicks off with Hall of Fame Game
  • 3 September 2022: Final Roster Cuts to 53 Players by 10pm German Time
  • 4 September 2022: Appointment Practice Squad (10 players)
  • 8 September 2022: Kick-off of the Regular Season
  • 7 January 2023: Kick-off of the playoffs
  • 12 February 2023: Super Bowl LVII at State Farm Stadium, Glendale, Arizona

Y'all hyped and stuff 'bout dem Seahawks?

Die Seahawks starten in die Offseason 2022

Seahawks-Helm liegt auf dem Spielfeld

Nach der absolut enttäuschenden Saison der Seattle Seahawks und noch vor Super Bowl LVI wollen wir in die Offseason 2022 starten und vorausschauen. Die Ownerin und das Front Office müssen in den kommenden Wochen und Monaten wichtige Entscheidungen treffen, um in der Saison 2022 einen konkurrenzfähigen Coaching Staff und das dazu passende Team aufs Spielfeld stellen zu können. Personal, Verletzungen, Finanzen, Spielplan – hier kommt der Überblick inklusive Ausblick.

Free Agents

Die gute Nachricht zuerst: Die Seahawks haben die wichtigsten Säulen ihres Teams auch 2022 unter Vertrag. Die schlechte hinterher: Fans müssen sich darauf einstellen, auch in dieser Offseason den ein oder anderen Publikumsliebling aus Seattle weggehen zu sehen. S Quandre Diggs hat sich in den letzten Jahren seinen Stammplatz in der Secondary mit super Leistungen redlich verdient. Das haben aber vermutlich auch andere Teams mitbekommen, was den Preis des Free Safetys deutlich nach oben treiben wird. Fraglich ist hier nur, wie sehr seine Verletzung Einfluss auf den Marktwert hat. So stellt sich die Frage: Können sich die Seahawks zwei teure Safetys nebeneinander leisten? Beide Starting Tackles werden ebenfalls Free Agents, hier stellt sich die Frage, wie man in die Zukunft gehen möchte und mit wem man dazu verlängert. Und dann sind da natürlich noch die Diskussionen um mögliche Star-Abgänge per Trade oder Cut…

Folgende 30 Spieler der Seahawks werden mit Beginn des neuen Liga-Jahres am 16. März laut Over The Cap Free Agents:

  • T Duane Brown (UFA)
  • S Quandre Diggs (UFA)
  • TE Gerald Everett (UFA)
  • T Brandon Shell (UFA)
  • C Ethan Pocic (UFA)
  • RB Rashaad Penny (UFA)
  • DT Al Woods (UFA)
  • CB Sydney Jones (UFA)
  • QB Geno Smith (UFA)
  • RB Alex Collins (UFA)
  • DT Robert Nkemdiche (UFA)
  • CB Ryan Neal (ERFA)
  • C Kyle Fuller (RFA)
  • DE Rasheem Green (UFA)
  • CB Blessuan Austin (RFA)
  • G Phil Haynes (RFA)
  • DT Bryan Mone (ERFA)
  • WR Penny Hart (ERFA)
  • WR John Ursua (ERFA)
  • S Tanner Muse (ERFA)
  • CB John Reid (ERFA)
  • TE Will Dissly (UFA)
  • CB D.J. Reed (UFA)
  • T Jamarco Jones (UFA)
  • S Nigel Warrior (ERFA)
  • CB Gavin Heslop (ERFA)
  • DT Marcus Webb (ERFA)
  • LB Jon Rhattigan (ERFA)
  • G Dakoda Shepley (ERFA)
  • RB Adrian Peterson (SFA)

Sie sind in Unrestricted, Restricted, Exclusive Rights und Street Free Agents unterteilt. Unrestricted Free Agents (UFA) können mit Beginn des neuen Liga-Jahres ohne Einschränkungen mit anderen Teams verhandeln. Spieler, die den Status Restricted Free Agents (RFA) haben, können ebenfalls mit anderen Teams verhandeln. Sollte ein RFA sich mit einem neuen Team geeinigt haben, hat das bisherige Team aber ebenfalls die Chance, ein Angebot zu machen, in dem es dem RFA den gleichen Vertrag, zu den gleichen Konditionen anbietet. In diesem Fall ist der Spieler dazu verpflichtet, das Angebot von seinem bisherigen Team anzunehmen. Ist das Angebot vom bisherigen nicht gleich gut wie das des neuen, erhält das bisherige Team vom neuen Team des Spielers einen Draft Pick. Die Höhe des Draft Picks wird im Vorfeld der Free-Agency-Phase vom bisherigen Team festgelegt.

Exclusive Rights Free Agents (ERFA) sind Spieler, an denen eine Franchise besondere Rechte besitzt. Diesen kann das Team daher einen Vertrag zu Minimalkonditionen anbieten, um sie zu binden. Street Free Agents (SFA) können im Gegensatz zu UFAs jederzeit vor Beginn des neuen Liga-Jahres bei einem Team unterschreiben, sobald sie nicht mehr unter Vertrag stehen. Ihre alten Verträge (meist Practice Squad oder Verletztenliste) liefen aus, als die Saison endete.

Aus der Practice Squad der abgelaufenen Saison haben die Seahawks bereits mehrere Spieler mit einem Zukunftsvertrag für 2022 ausgestattet. Diese sind:

  • DT Myles Adams
  • WR Matt Cole
  • LB Aaron Donkor
  • T Greg Eiland
  • WR Aaron Fuller
  • DT Jarrod Hewitt
  • CB Mike Jackson
  • WR Cade Johnson
  • G Pier-Olivier Lestage
  • WR Cody Thompson
  • LB Lakiem Williams
  • DT Niles Scott

Verletzungen

  • SS Jamal Adams: Unser Strong Safety konnte den Großteil der Saison beschwerdefrei spielen und zeigte auch ansprechende Leistungen, sowohl in der Box, als auch in Coverage. Die vielen Tackles, Pass Breakups und erstaunlicherweise auch zwei Interceptions sprechen hier eine deutliche Sprache. Allerdings kam dann Woche 13 gegen die San Francisco 49ers und Adams riss sich erneut das Labrum (sog. Pfannenlippe in der Schulter), was schon in der letzten Saison betroffen war. Hier muss man hoffen, dass er sich vollständig erholt und diese Verletzung keine Dauerhafte wird.
  • RB Chris Carson: Unser erster Running Back hatte leider keine gute Saison. Schon im Spiel in Woche 4 gegen die 49ers verletzte er sich am Nacken und konnte danach nicht mehr spielen. In Woche 9 wurde dann klar, dass er sich am Nacken operieren lassen muss und dieser Eingriff seine Saison beendet. Ob und wie sehr dieser Eingriff ihn in Zukunft beeinträchtigt, ist Stand jetzt noch völlig unklar. Carsons Verletzungsmisere der letzten Jahre setzt sich damit leider fort, bisher konnte er noch in keiner seiner fünf Saisons für die Seahawks alle Spiele machen. Die vier Spiele aus dieser Saison sind dabei bisher der negative Höhepunkt. Hoffen wir das Beste für die Zukunft!
  • CB Tre Brown: Die Patellasehne verhinderte die Traum-Rookie-Saison unseres Viertrundenpicks aus dem diesjährigen Draft. Nach starken Ansätzen in der Preseason und noch stärkeren fünf Einsätzen in der Regular Season verletzte sich Brown leider schwer und musste direkt operiert werden. Patellasehnen-Risse sind eine der eher komplexeren Verletzungen im Football, die Heilungszeit beträgt bis zu einem halben Jahr. Hier müssen wir hoffen, dass er die Regeneration zum Start der Trainings Camps bereits vollkommen abgeschlossen hat und wieder problemlos trainieren kann.
  • FS Quandre Diggs: In den letzten Snaps der Saison renkte sich Diggs den Knöchel aus und brach sich das Wadenbein. Die Operation verlief gut und – Glück im Unglück – es handelt sich wohl um einen glatten und dadurch wenig komplizierten Bruch. Laut NFL-Insider Ian Rapoport könnte er schon in vier Monaten und damit pünktlich zum Beginn der ersten Training Camps wieder auf dem Platz stehen. Besonders bitter für Diggs: Er geht in die Free Agency – eine ähnliche Situation wie damals bei Earl Thomas.
  • Weitere Verletzte (ohne Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit): DB Marquise Blair verletzte sich leider wieder früh schwer in der Saison – diesmal riss die Kniescheibe. Besonders schade, weil Blair eigentlich bis dato eine gute Saison gespielt und seinen Stammplatz als Nickel hatte. Auch LB Ben Burr-Kirven verletzte sich früh schwer. Ein gerissenes Kreuzband ist keine Verletzung, mit der man spaßen kann. Und so wird sich zeigen, ob Hometownkid BBK 2022 komplett wieder zurück kommen kann. Dieselbe Verletzung erwischte WR John Ursua – und zwar in derselben Woche. Auch bei Ursua ist nichts weiteres zum bisherigen Heilungsverlauf bekannt. Hoffentlich kann er 2022 wieder voll durchstarten. Die Verletzungen von LB Bobby Wagner und QB Russell Wilson scheinen weniger erheblich für die Zukunft zu sein. Wagner überdehnte sich verschiedene Bänder im Knie, diese werden aber normal ausheilen. Wilsons verletzter Mittelfinger sah von Woche zu Woche besser aus. Bei beiden wurde es schlicht Zeit für eine Offseason.

Coaching Staff

Über eine Woche nach Saisonende kamen die ersten Gerüchte zum Coaching Staff der Seattle Seahawks auf: Laut Insider Corbin Smith (Sports Illustrated) wird – und das ist die wichtigste Nachricht – Head Coach Pete Carroll in Seattle bleiben. Ob das die richtige Entscheidung von Ownerin Jody Allen ist, bleibt abzuwarten. Sie scheint jedoch auch nach einer bitteren Saison weiterhin überzeugt von ihrem Vice President of Football Operations zu sein.

Dafür erwischt es scheinbar den Defensive Coordinator, Ken Norton Jr. und er wird die Seahawks verlassen müssen. Für die Defensive war die Saison eine Achterbahn der Gefühle. Zwar ließ sie im Schnitt der anderen Teams verhältnismäßig wenig Punkte zu, erlaubte allerdings imer wieder Short Yardage und hielt so Drives am Leben. Die „bend but don’t break“-Mentalität schien oberste Maxime von Norton gewesen zu sein und führte zu abenteuerlichen Time of Possession-Statistiken. Genau das hat nicht ausgereicht. Nach drei Jahren als Defensive Coordinator (und zuvor schon einmal sechs Jahren als Linebacker-Coach) endet sein Kapitel in Seattle.

Auf der anderen Seite des Balles scheint das Front Office mit den Entwicklungen der Offensive eher zufrieden gewesen zu sein. In einigen Ansätzen blitzte die Spielidee von Offensive Coordinator Shane Waldron immer wieder durch (z.B. Spiele gegen die Colts, 49ers, Cardinals), andererseits konnte auch unser neuer OC die Baustellen auf 3rd Down und die Kreativität im Playcalling nicht nachhaltig verbessern. Ihm scheint hier eine Art Welpenschutz zuteil geworden zu sein (auch aufgrund der zwei OC-Wechsel in den beiden Jahren zuvor), die ihm für jetzt den Platz an der Seitenlinie sichert. Klar ist: Hier muss 2022 eine deutliche Leistungssteigerung sichtbar werden.

Bei den Assistenztrainern wird (Defensive) Passing Game Coordinator Andre Curtis seinen Hut nehmen müssen. Ursprünglich als Secondary-Coach gekommen war Curtis schon seit sechs Jahren in verschiedenen Positionen im Coaching Staff der Seahawks aktiv. Nun soll seine Position neu besetzt werden. Ein anderer Name geistert anderweitig durch das Lumen Field: D-Line Coach Clint Hurtt scheint Anwärter auf den nun frei gewordenen Defensive Coordinator-Job zu sein. Zwar wollen die Seahawks auch externe Kandidaten in Erwägung ziehen, das Front Office scheint aber den seit vier Jahren angestellten Assistant DC befördern zu wollen. Weitere Wechsel in den Reihen der Assistenztrainer sind möglich, dies wird vor allem darauf ankommen, wie die Trainersuche bei den anderen NFL-Teams verläuft. Gerüchte gibt es bisher jedenfalls noch nicht.

UPDATE: Mittlerweile ist die Trennung von Ken Norton Jr. und Andre Curtis offiziell. Gerüchten zufolge hat Seattle zudem darum gebeten, Ed Donatell, den aktuellen DC der Denver Broncos, zu interviewen.

Rückblick und Analyse

Rund um den Super Bowl LIV beschäftigt sich die Redaktion detailliert mit ein paar Themen, die bei den Seahawks in der abgelaufenen Saison für Gesprächsstoff sorgten. Hier der Überblick (wird erweitert, sobald die Texte zur Verfügung stehen):

Finanzen

Die Seahawks stehen für 2022 aktuell rund 56 Millionen US-Dollar unter der Gehaltsobergrenze zur Verfügung – sofern diese für das kommende Liga-Jahr auf 208 Millionen erhöht wird, wie es Over The Cap aktuell prognostiziert. Seattle läge damit rein finanziell auf Platz 7 der Liga, das ist aber auch bitter nötig bei den Verlängerungen, die anstehen.

Zum Glück wurden die Verträge von S Jamal Adams und P Michael Dickson bereits verlängert und stehen in diesem Jahr nicht an. Doch gerade die Verlängerungen in der Secondary (S Quandre Diggs und CB DJ Reed, ggf. auch CB Sydney Jones) und in der O-Line (T Duane Brown und T Brandon Shell) werden teuer werden und es stellt sich die Frage, wer aus dieser Aufzählung welches Geld tatsächlich verdient hat.

Mit Blick auf die 2021er Saison ist es zudem dringend notwendig, den Kader in Breite und Tiefe zu verstärken. Ein neuer Center wird verzweifelt gesucht und auch der dritte Wide Receiver ist noch nicht ideal besetzt. Auch auf Seiten der Defense gibt es noch Lücken, die zu füllen sind. Gerade in der Rotation der D-Line, auf Linebacker (unabhängig von allen Überlegungen wird Bobby Wagner auch nicht jünger…) und auf Cornerback sind noch Lücken offen.

Über die Offseason werden uns vermutlich folgende beiden schon zum Ende der Regular Season auftauchenden Gerüchte verfolgen: Russell Wilson verlässt die Seahawks per Trade und/oder Bobby Wagner wird gecuttet. Ersteres liegt vor allem an den Diskussionen aus der vorherigen Offseason, zweiteres am Alter unseres Star-LB. Die Leistungen von Wagner waren zwar weiterhin gut, aber nicht mehr so spitzenmäßig wie noch in den letzten Jahren. Der Trend zeigt bei ihm eher nach unten als nach oben und der Vertrag ist mit rund 20 Millionen Dollar sehr teuer. Mit einem Cut könnten über 16 Millionen eingespart werden. Darüber muss mindestens nachgedacht werden dürfen.

Ein Blick lohnt sich zudem auf den recht teuren Vertrag von K Jason Myers, bei dem bei einem Cut rund 4 Millionen Dollar eingespart werden könnten. Die Leistungen in dieser Saison waren schlicht zu schwach und einen halbwegs soliden Veteran als Kicker bekommt man zum Minimum immer.

NFL Draft 2022

Nach der enttäuschenden Regular Season steht fest, dass die Seahawks im NFL Draft 2022 an 10. Stelle auswählen würden, wenn sie ihren Erstrundenpick nicht im Rahmen des Trades für Jamal Adams an die New York Jets gegeben hätten. So aber ist die Situation nicht besonders angenehm, denn ein so hoher Pick (in den letzten Jahren doch recht einzigartig) hätte die Möglichkeit auf super Unterstützung von Beginn der kommenden Saison an gegeben. Auch der Pick in Runde sechs wurde bereits an die Jaguars abgegeben (Trade für Sydney Jones).

So stehen uns im kommenden Draft insgesamt sechs Picks zur Verfügung:

  • 2. Runde, #9: Seattle
  • 3. Runde, #8: Seattle
  • 4. Runde, #4: Seattle, via New York Jets (Teil des Adams-Deals)
  • 4. Runde, #11: Seattle
  • 5. Runde, #10: Seattle
  • 7. Runde, #8: Seattle

Die Compensatory Picks für den NFL Draft 2022 werden wie gewohnt erst Anfang März veröffentlicht, daher steht die schlussendliche Draft-Reihenfolge noch nicht fest und wir wissen nur, welche Picks wir in welcher Runde haben werden.

Saison 2022

Blicken wir nun nach vorne. Dies sind die Gegner in der kommenden Spielzeit:

Zu Hause im Lumen Field werden die Seahawks die Atlanta Falcons, Carolina Panthers, Denver Broncos, Las Vegas Raiders*, New York Giants, New York Jets und die Rivalen aus der NFC West empfangen. Auswärts muss Seattle 2021 bei den bei den New Orleans Saints, Tampa Bay Buccaneers*, Kansas City Chiefs*, Los Angeles Chargers, bei den Detroit Lions und wie immer bei den NFC-West-Teams antreten.

Der final terminierte Spielplan wird in der Regel Mitte Mai veröffentlicht und dann zeitnah auch hier auf der Website veröffentlicht. Nachdem das 17. Spiel in der abgelaufenen Saison das Auswärtsspiel bei den Steelers war, haben wir in diesem Jahr ein Heimspiel mehr.

*Playoff-Teams 2021

Zeitplan

Abschließend hier noch ein Plan mit allen wichtigen Daten der Saison 2022:

  • 22. Februar bis 8. März 2022: Franchise-Tag-Phase
  • 14. bis 16. März 2022: Verhandlungen mit Unrestricted Free Agents
  • 16. März 2022: Alle Verträge laufen aus; Free Agency, Trade-Phase und das neue Liga-Jahr beginnen um 21 Uhr deutscher Zeit
  • Mitte Mai 2022: Bekanntgabe Spielplan
  • 18. April 2022: Beginn der Offseason-Trainingsaktivitäten
  • 28. bis 30. April 2022: NFL Draft
  • Juli/August 2022: Training Camp
  • 4. August 2022: Auftakt der Preseason mit dem Hall of Fame Game
  • 3. September 2022: Finale Roster Cuts auf 53 Spieler bis 22 Uhr deutscher Zeit
  • 4. September 2022: Ernennung Practice Squad (10 Spieler)
  • 8. September 2022: Auftakt der Regular Season
  • 7. Januar 2023: Auftakt der Playoffs
  • 12. Februar 2023: Super Bowl LVII im State Farm Stadium, Glendale, Arizona

Y’all hyped and stuff ‚bout dem Seahawks?

Menü