The end of an era: Russell Wilson leaves the Seahawks

Russell Wilson former Seahawks Quarterback with Head Coach Pete Carroll

And then it actually happened after all: Russell Wilson leaves the Seahawks and moves to the Denver Broncos. He was officially introduced in Colorado on Wednesday (16 March 2022). And although the rumour of a trade had been around for more than a year, many Seahawks fans were still shocked more than a week ago - when it finally happened. The Seahawks without Wilson is comparable to the idea of FC Bayern without Thomas Müller.

In exchange for the services of Russell Wilson, tight end Noah Fant, defensive tackle Shelby Harris and quarterback Drew Lock join the Seahawks. The Seahawks also receive two first-round picks, two second-round picks and a fifth-round pick. Along with Russell Wilson, a fourth-round pick from the Seahawks also goes to Denver.

The right to decide for himself if and where he is traded was granted to Wilson in his contract with the Seahawks when his contract was extended in 2019. Therefore, he could now decide for himself where he goes. According to ESPN reporter Brady Henderson, the Broncos were his desired destination.

Russell Wilson and the Seahawks: Painful separation

According toESPN, however, the Broncos were not the only ones interested in Wilson. As many as twelve teams are said to have made the Seahawks an offer for a Wilson trade. In the end, head coach Pete Carroll and general manager John Schneider opted for the offer from Denver - also because they had no choice but to respect Wilson's wishes.

The reasons for this separation are manifold. On the one hand, Russell Wilson has been demanding more say in personnel decisions and a better O-line for a year. On the other hand, he has not been able to deliver top performances in the past two years - even though his finger injury last year definitely contributed to this. In the end, Carroll, Schneider and Wilson have not been able to agree on many issues. A painful separation is the result.

For many Seahawks fans - especially in Germany - the Seahawks and Russell Wilson belong together, young fans don't even know the Seahawks without the quarterback. It will take time for the fans to digest this shock. After all, John Schneider and Pete Carroll went one better. The day after, the only other remaining player from the 2013 Super Bowl team was dismissed. Bobby Wagner will probably not play for the Seahawks next season either.

Seattle Seahawks: Who could follow Wilson and Wagner?

The decision to part with both Russell Wilson and another franchise legend, linebacker Bobby Wagner, points in one clear direction: the rebuild. The savings from the Wilson trade are virtually zero for this year due to the players who are moving from the Broncos to Seattle in return, but Seattle will save a lot of money in the next few years. The firing of Bobby Wagner, on the other hand, has a direct impact on cap space. Seattle will save more than 16 million dollars next season.

Thus, Seattle will now have 39 million dollars - including the cost of rookie contracts - at its disposal to lure players to Seattle in free agency. The problem is that Seattle will no longer be an attractive destination for free agents after Wilson's departure. Without a good quarterback, the chances of success in the NFL are not high. So it could be that it will be difficult for the Seahawks to bring players to Seattle. A little more financial leeway in negotiations will help.

The personnel change at the quarterback position may also have an impact on players who are currently still under contract in Seattle. Players like wide receiver Tyler Lockett, for example, could soon follow Wagner and Wilson. On the other hand, it will be important to convince key building blocks for the team like DK Metcalf, Darrell Taylor, Jamal Adams and Jordyn Brooks of the plan for the future. This is especially true for DK Metcalf - whose contract ends after the coming season.

Seattle Seahawks: Rookie or veteran?

For DK, one thing in particular will matter besides the money: Who will throw the balls for the Seahawks in the future?

That's the question John Schneider and Pete Carroll have to answer. Drew Lock, in all likelihood, will not be the long-term answer. That leaves the Seahawks with two options, broadly speaking. They trade picks for an experienced expensive quarterback or pick a quarterback in the draft.

It remains to be seen what Schneider and Carroll will decide. What is clear is that Carroll is already 70 years old and a complete rebuild with him is hard to imagine. On the other hand, it is hard to look forward to a possible signing of quarterbacks like Deshaun Watson or Jimmy Garoppolo.

Carroll and Schneider: an unpredictable duo

The hope of Seahawks fans should be that the Seahawks go for a college quarterback. There is too much to be said for young blood, who can also be had at a much lower price. The Seahawks don't necessarily have to decide on a quarterback this year. They could also wait until next year and give Drew Lock a chance this season.

It is currently not clear in which direction the Seahawks are moving. Pete Carroll and John Schneider can be trusted with anything. It is entirely possible that Carroll will choose the path that leads his team back into the circle of title favourites as quickly as possible. Whether that is possible in the short term, regardless of the solution at quarterback, can certainly be questioned.

Das Ende einer Ära: Russell Wilson verlässt die Seahawks

Russell Wilson former Seahawks Quarterback with Head Coach Pete Carroll

Und dann ist es tatsächlich doch passiert: Russell Wilson verlässt die Seahawks und wechselt zu den Denver Broncos. In Colorado wurde er am Mittwoch (16. März 2022) offiziell vorgestellt. Und obwohl das Gerücht eines Trades bereits mehr als ein Jahr im Raum stand, waren dennoch viele Seahawks-Fans vor mehr als einer Woche – als es dann doch passiert ist – geschockt. Die Seahawks ohne Wilson ist vergleichbar mit der Vorstellung eines FC Bayern ohne Thomas Müller.

Für die Dienste von Russell Wilson wechseln Tight Ende Noah Fant, Defensive Tackle Shelby Harris und Quarterback Drew Lock zu den Seahawks. Außerdem erhalten die Seahawks zwei Erstrunden-Picks, zwei Zweitrunden-Picks und einen Fünftrunden-Pick. Neben Russell Wilson geht ebenfalls ein Viertrunden-Pick der Seahawks nach Denver.

Das Recht selbst zu bestimmen, ob und wohin er getradet wird, hat Wilson in seinem Vertrag mit den Seahawks bei Vertragsverlängerung 2019 zugestanden bekommen. Deshalb konnte er nun selbst entscheiden, wohin er geht. Laut ESPN-Reporter Brady Henderson waren die Broncos sein Wunschziel.

Russell Wilson und die Seahawks: Schmerzhafte Trennung

ESPN zu Folge waren die Broncos allerdings nicht die einzigen, die sich für Wilson interessiert haben. Bis zu zwölf Teams sollen den Seahawks ein Angebot für einen Wilson-Trade gemacht haben. Am Ende haben Head Coach Pete Carroll und General Manager John Schneider sich für das Angebot aus Denver entschieden – auch weil sie keine andere Wahl hatten als Wilsons Wunsch zu respektieren.

Die Gründe für diese Trennung sind vielfältig. Auf der einen Seite forderte Russell Wilson seit einem Jahr mehr Mitspracherecht bei Personalentscheidungen und eine bessere O-Line. Auf der anderen Seite ist es ihm in den vergangen zwei Jahren nicht mehr gelungen, Topleistungen abzurufen – auch wenn im letzten Jahr seine Fingerverletzung definitiv dazu beigetragen hat. Am Ende sind sich Carroll, Schneider und Wilson in vielen Fragen nicht mehr einig gewesen. Eine schmerzhafte Trennung ist die Folge.

Für viele Seahawks-Fans – insbesondere in Deutschland – gehören die Seahawks und Russell Wilson zusammen, junge Fans kennen die Seahawks gar nicht ohne den Quarterback. Es wird seine Zeit brauchen, bis die Fans diesen Schock verdaut haben. Immerhin haben John Schneider und Pete Carroll noch einen draufgesetzt. Am Tag darauf folgte die Entlassung von dem einzigen anderen verbliebenen Spieler aus der Super Bowl-Mannschaft von 2013. Auch Bobby Wagner wird in der nächsten Saison wahrscheinlich nicht mehr für die Seahawks spielen.

Seattle Seahawks: Wer könnte Wilson und Wagner folgen?

Die Entscheidung, sich sowohl von Russell Wilson als auch von einer weiteren Franchise-Legende, Linebacker Bobby Wagner, zu trennen, zeigt in eine klare Richtung: den Rebuild. Denn die Ersparnisse durch den Wilson-Trade sind für dieses Jahr durch die Spieler, die von den Broncos im Gegenzug nach Seattle wechseln, zwar quasi bei null, dafür spart Seattle in den nächsten Jahren viel Geld. Die Entlassung von Bobby Wagner wirkt sich hingegen direkt auf das Cap Space aus. Seattle spart kommende Saison mehr als 16 Millionen Dollar.

Somit wird Seattle nun 39 Millionen Dollar – berechnet man auch Kosten für Rookie-Verträge mit ein – zur Verfügung haben, um in der Free Agency Spieler nach Seattle zu locken. Problem dabei: Seattle wird nach dem Abgang von Wilson kein attraktives Ziel mehr für Free Agents sein. Ohne guten Quarterback stehen die Erfolgschancen in der NFL nicht hoch. Könnte also sein, dass es für die Seahawks schwierig wird Spieler nach Seattle zu holen. Dabei wird etwas mehr finanzieller Spielraum in Verhandlungen  helfen.

Die personelle Veränderung auf der Quarterback-Position hat womöglich auch Auswirkungen auf Spieler, die aktuell noch einen laufenden Vertrag in Seattle besitzen. Spieler wie Wide Receiver Tyler Lockett zum Beispiel könnten Wagner und Wilson bald folgen. Auf der anderen Seite wird es wichtig sein, wichtige Bausteine für das Team wie DK Metcalf, Darrell Taylor, Jamal Adams und Jordyn Brooks von dem Plan für die Zukunft zu überzeugen. Dies gilt speziell für DK Metcalf – dessen Vertrag nach der kommenden Saison endet.

Seattle Seahawks: Rookie oder Veteran?

Für DK wird es dabei neben dem Geld besonders auf eine Sache ankommen: Wer wirft die Bälle für die Seahawks in Zukunft?

Diese Frage müssen John Schneider und Pete Carroll beantworten. Drew Lock wird aller Wahrscheinlichkeit nach nicht die langfristige Antwort sein. Somit haben die Seahawks im Großen und Ganzen zwei Optionen. Sie traden Picks für einen erfahrenen teuren Quarterback oder picken einen Quarterback im Draft.

Wofür sich Schneider und Carroll entscheiden, bleibt abzuwarten. Klar ist, dass Carroll bereits 70 Jahre alt ist und ein kompletter Rebuild mit ihm schwer vorstellbar ist. Auf der anderen Seite fällt es schwer sich auf eine womögliche Verpflichtung von Quarterbacks wie Deshaun Watson oder Jimmy Garoppolo zu freuen.

Carroll und Schneider: ein unberechenbares Duo

Die Hoffnung der Seahawks-Fans sollte darin stecken, dass die Seahawks sich für einen Quarterback aus dem College entscheiden. Zu viel spricht für junges Blut, das auch noch um einiges günstiger zu haben ist. Dabei müssen die Seahawks nicht unbedingt bereits in diesem Jahr sich für einen Quarterback entscheiden. Sie könnten auch erst nächstes Jahr sich einen Quarterback schnappen und diese Saison Drew Lock eine Chance geben.

In welche Richtung die Seahawks sich bewegen, ist aktuell nicht klar. Pete Carroll und John Schneider ist alles zuzutrauen. Durchaus möglich, dass sich Carroll für den Weg ausspricht, der sein Team am schnellsten zurück in den Kreis der Titelfavoriten führt. Ob das kurzfristig unabhängig von der Lösung auf Quarterback möglich ist, kann jedoch durchaus infrage gestellt werden.

Menü