Osprey eyes: George Fant-astic

George Fant

The Seattle Seahawks won a hugely important playoff game against the Minnesota Vikings on Monday night. Seattle's running backs had an outstanding day. They ran for a total of 176 yards on 38 attempts (4.6 yards per run) and combined to score three touchdowns. This was also made possible by a tactical ploy. The Seahawks' offensive line was often reinforced by an extra lineman, George Fant.

George Fant has had a special role in the Seahawks' O-line since last season: If he enters the field as an additional lineman, he must register with the referee as "Eligible" before every snap. This means he is considered a tight end for one play and is also used as such. The Seahawks place Fant to the left or right of the tackles. This allows him to assist in either pass protection or run blocking.

While the Seahawks' entire offensive line had a good day in pass protection against Minnesota(Pro Football Focus doesn't rate any player below 70/100), George Fant was the team's best blocker (75.8/100) in the run game and played a big part in the success on the ground. As a protector of Russell Wilson, Fant was rated with 78.7/100, was even a tad better in this discipline than in the run, but in this case not the best player of his team (surprisingly, Mike Iupati, otherwise known more as a strong run blocker, had the top mark here).

The Seahawks offence already resorted to this style in last season's meeting. Also then, Seattle inflicted massive damage on the Vikings through the running game - 214 yards.

Fant played 39 snaps in 2018, about 59 percent of the offensive snaps. Early Tuesday morning, it was 42 snaps, or 56 percent of the snaps. This time, however, unlike last season, Fant did not have enough of a reception followed by a tackle of the "Turf Monster".

First, a look at the Seahawks' formation at the start of the game. Quarterback Russell Wilson is under centre. Tyrone Swoopes (#46), who is actually at home at the tight end position, acts as fullback for the injured Nick Bellore. In the backfield is running back Chris Carson (#32). On the far left with the number 74 is George Fant, who has lined up next to tight end Jacob Hollister (#48).

Fant goes into motion after the snap, is now on the right side of tackle Germain Ifedi. But the ball is not run to the strong right side, but - this is part of the misdirection - is pitched to the left. Carson does not gain much space there.

Even though the move just described was not successful, it had value for the team in relation to the one that followed. A play was made from a similar looking formation away from the strong side. The defence now knows that a Seahawks run will not automatically go through the strong side. And sure enough, this time the run goes through the supposed strong side with Fant on the right side of the formation. Fant literally has his hands full. But he is able to make decisive blocks to gain space for Penny.

And that doesn't even begin to take the tactics between offence and defence to the extreme. As seen in this video, Hollister and Fant are lined up on the left side of the offensive line. Before the snap, both switch to the right side. With Carson now out of the backfield, the Seahawks' strong side threatens the Vikings defence. Out of this formation, Seattle runs a play-action play after the snap. Hollister runs a route out of position and Fant is involved in pass protection. Carson - initially poised to pick up an eventual blitz by the defense - runs free as a short checkdown option. Wilson's pass misses its target, wide receiver DK Metcalf, but Fant played an excellent pass-blocking role here.

In this critical situation close to their own end zone, the Seahawks initially used Fant as a fullback in disguise in the backfield, similar to Swoopes on other snaps. The player then goes into motion and gets the Vikings defence moving. Fant sets his block perfectly on this play as well. Carson runs through the middle of the field for a good gain.

Finally, a play that is a little easier to understand. Fant is lined up next to Ifedi and both block excellently to open a gap. Through this gap, Carson can advance untouched into the open field and pick up many more yards.

The increased use of George Fants was crowned with great success. And away from the numbers and stats, he was also a way to keep the Vikings defence busy. With quite a few pre-snap moves, Minnesota's defenders had to adjust on short notice. That's especially evident in the last video. This mental stress of having to constantly adjust to new situations or communicate changes in the defence on short notice is also a factor that makes Fant a popular weapon to help the Seahawks offence achieve its goals in both the passing and running game.

Fischadleraugen: George Fant-astisch

Die Seattle Seahawks haben in der Nacht von Montag auf Dienstag gegen die Minnesota Vikings ein im Hinblick auf die Playoffs enorm wichtiges Spiel gewonnen. Seattles Runningbacks erwischten einen herausragenden Tag. Sie liefen für insgesamt 176 Yards bei 38 Versuchen (4,6 Yards pro Lauf) und erzielten gemeinsam drei Touchdowns. Das war auch durch einen taktischen Kniff möglich: Die Angriffslinie der Seahawks wurde oft durch einen zusätzlichen Lineman, George Fant, verstärkt.

George Fant nimmt in der O-Line der Seahawks seit der vergangenen Saison eine Sonderrolle ein: Betritt er als zusätzlicher Lineman das Spielfeld, muss er sich vor jedem Snap als “Eligible”, also passempfangsberechtigt, beim Schiedsrichter anmelden. Dadurch gilt er für einen Spielzug als Tight End und wird als solcher auch eingesetzt. Die Seahawks platzieren Fant links oder rechts neben den Tackles, damit er entweder in der Pass Protection oder beim Lauf-Blocking unterstützen kann.

Während in der Pass Protection die gesamte Offensive Line der Seahawks gegen Minnesota einen guten Tag erwischte (Pro Football Focus bewertet keinen Spieler unter 70/100), war George Fant der beste Blocker des Teams (75,8/100) im Laufspiel und hatte damit großen Anteil am Erfolg am Boden. Als Beschützer Russell Wilsons wurde Fant mit 78,7/100 bewertet, war in dieser Disziplin sogar einen Tick besser als beim Lauf, aber in diesem Fall nicht bester Spieler seines Teams (überraschend hatte hier Mike Iupati, sonst eher als starker Lauf-Blocker bekannt, die Bestnote).

Schon beim Aufeinandertreffen in der vergangenen Saison griff die Seahawks-Offense zu diesem Stilmittel. Auch damals fügte Seattle den Vikings massiven Schaden durch das Laufspiel zu – 214 Yards.

Fant spielte 2018 mit 39 Snaps rund 59 Prozent der Offensiv-Snaps, am frühen Dienstagmorgen waren es 42 Snaps, was 56 Prozent der Snaps entspricht. Dieses Mal reichte es für Fant im Unterschied zur vergangenen Saison aber nicht zu einer Reception mit anschließendem Tackle des “Turf-Monsters”.

Zunächst ein Blick auf die Formation der Seahawks zu Beginn des Spiels: Quarterback Russell Wilson ist “Under Center”, als Fullback für den verletzten Nick Bellore agiert Tyrone Swoopes (#46), der eigentlich auf der Tight-End-Position zuhause ist. Im Backfield steht Runningback Chris Carson (#32). Ganz links mit der Nummer 74 ist George Fant erkennbar, der sich neben Tight End Jacob Hollister (#48) aufgestellt hat.

Fant geht nach dem Snap in Motion, steht nun auf der rechten Seite von Tackle Germain Ifedi. Der Ball geht dann aber nicht per Lauf zur starken rechten Seite, sondern wird – das ist Teil der Irreführung – nach links auf Carson gepitcht, der wenig Raumgewinn erzielt.

Auch wenn der eben beschriebene Spielzug nicht erfolgreich war, hatte er in Bezug auf den darauf folgenden einen Wert für das Team: Es wurde aus einer ähnlich aussehenden Formation heraus ein Spielzug weg von der starken Seite gespielt. Die Defense weiß nun, dass ein Lauf der Seahawks nicht automatisch über die starke Seite gehen wird – das ist eine Herausforderung. Und tatsächlich geht der Lauf diesmal über die vermeintlich starke Seite mit Fant auf der rechten Seite der Formation. Fant hat im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes alle Hände voll zu tun, kann aber entscheidende Blocks für den Raumgewinn von Penny setzen.

Und damit ist das Taktieren zwischen Offensive und Defensive noch lange nicht auf die Spitze getrieben. Wie in diesem Video zu sehen, sind Hollister und Fant auf der linken Seite der Angriffslinie aufgestellt. Vor dem Snap wechseln beide auf die rechte Seite und die Gefahr, dass die Seahawks mit Carson aus dem Backfield nun über die starke Seite laufen, bedroht die Vikings-Defense. Aus dieser Formation heraus startet Seattle nach dem Snap einen Play-Action-Spielzug: Hollister läuft aus seiner Position eine Route, Fant ist in die Pass Protection eingebunden und Carson – zunächst bereit, einen eventuellen Blitz der Defense aufzunehmen – läuft sich als kurze Checkdown-Option frei. Der Pass von Wilson verfehlt zwar sein Ziel, Wide Receiver DK Metcalf, doch Fant hat hier eine ausgezeichnete Rolle als Pass-Blocker gespielt.

Bei dieser kritischen Situation nah an der eigenen Endzone setzten die Seahawks Fant nun ähnlich wie Swoopes bei anderen Snaps zunächst als verkappten Fullback im Backfield ein. Der Spieler geht dann aber in Motion und bringt damit die Vikings-Defense in Bewegung. Fant setzt auch in diesem Spielzug seinen Block perfekt, Carson läuft für einen guten Raumgewinn aber durch die Mitte des Feldes.

Zum Abschluss noch ein etwas leichter verständlicher Spielzug. Fant ist neben Ifedi aufgestellt, beide blocken exzellent eine Lücke frei, durch die Carson unberührt ins offene Feld vorstoßen kann und dort noch viele Yards einsammelt.

Der vermehrte Einsatz George Fants war von großem Erfolg gekrönt und – mal weg von den Zahlen und Statistiken – er war auch ein Mittel, um die Vikings-Defensive immer wieder zu beschäftigen. Durch etliche Bewegungen vor dem Snap mussten sich Minnesotas Verteidiger kurzfristig umstellen, wie vor allem im letzten Video zu sehen ist. Auch dieser mentale Stress, sich immer wieder auf neue Situationen einstellen zu müssen oder aber kurzfristig Änderungen in der Defense zu kommunizieren, ist ein Faktor, der Fant zu einer beliebten Waffe macht, um die Seahawks-Offensive sowohl im Pass- als auch im Laufspiel zum Ziel zu führen.

Menü