See A Hawk: Tre Brown

Tre Brown

Tre Brown was a very atypical pick in the 2021 NFL Draft for the Seattle Seahawks, as he does not have the typical measurements of an outside cornerback for the team from the Emerald City. However, Pete Carroll and John Schneider announced to the public that they plan to use Brown as an outside cornerback. The past and good season of D.J. Reed seems to have stayed in the minds of the responsible persons and thus softens the otherwise so strict requirements for a cornerback a bit.

Tre Brown is regarded as self-confident, loves competition and is not at a loss for words. This again sounds very much like the profile of former Seattle Seahawks cornerbacks.

Cornerback Tre Brown

Brief information:

  • College: Oklahoma
  • Age: 23 (24.September 1997)
  • Height: 178 cm
  • Weight: 83 kg
  • Arm length:
  • Hand size
  • Draft: 4th round, Pick #137

College Statistics (2020):

  • Games: 10
  • Tackles (solo/collective): 31 (25/6)
  • Tackles for loss of space: 1
  • Sacks: 0
  • Passes defended: 6
  • Interceptions: 3

Career

Tre Brown spent four years at the University of Oklahoma, a true powerhouse in college football. During his time at the university, Brown missed only two of a possible 52 games. In the last two seasons, the cornerback was able to establish himself as a starter.

On October 14, 2018, Brown's mother passed away from heart failure. A few days later after the painful loss, Brown returned to the team and played in the October 20, 2018 game against TCU. He expressed that his mother had to get through many things in life, she never lamented and always carried her head up. He said that his mother wouldn't have had it any other way and he wanted to show the world that he had the strength to play. Through this tragedy, Brown found new motivation to keep pushing himself to the maximum.

Video analysis

Tre Brown is a cornerback who can help the Seattle Seahawks with experience in both press and off-coverage. Brown is very good in press coverage, can make contact early and is not easily beaten by more physical wide receivers. He plays "bigger", is very aggressive. In general, his coverage work is reliable, he is often very close to the opponent and does so for long distance or duration of the play. Brown has clean footwork, agile hips, which is especially noticeable when moving out of the backpedal into a sprint (the so-called break), when he detects plays underneath early and then leaves his zone. A clean tackle technique rounds off his profile.

The small size is especially noticeable in contested catch situations. Here Tre Brown has problems at the catching point of the ball. This weakness could be concealed with better positioning and improved timing. Brown also often makes a lot of contact with the opponent, presumably to compensate for his physical dimensions. That's basically not a bad thing for now, but it could lead to more flags in the NFL than in college. This is where he needs to adjust at the next level. Brown is often over-aggressive in run defence support, sort of running past the play or the ball carrier.

Greatest strength

In the following scene we see Tre Brown in coverage work. The wide receiver of the opposing team tries to run a crossing route. Brown is in press coverage and interferes with the opponent right at the line of scrimmage. He then follows the opponent closely - with admittedly a lot of contact, which could also result in a penalty in the NFL. On the play to the wide receiver, Brown is able to get his arm in front of the opponent and deflect the pass.

Biggest weakness

To pick up on one of Tre Brown's weaknesses, this time, due to a lack of suitable video material, I am using filmed footage from the Senior Bowl week and the training sessions that took place there. It should be noted that the drills massively favour the wide receivers (quarterback without pressure, cornerback in one-on-one, no help from the safety).

Tre Brown fails to disrupt his opponent Nico Collins at the line of scrimmage on the following replay. This allows Collins to create some separation. In the course of the play, Brown is able to catch up. In the direct duel at the catch point, however, Brown simply has no chance against one of the better and physical receivers in this year's draft class. Collins uses all his physicality and his size advantage and secures the ball in the end zone. Players with those measurements will be aplenty waiting for Brown in the NFL. With tighter coverage or better timing in the air, he could mask this weakness.

Conclusion

Tre Brown will compete for a regular spot in a Seattle Seahawks cornerback group that has little to no way to gauge his ability. The best chance at one of the two outside-cornerback spots might be D.J. Reed, who held the position well in the second half of the 2020 season. Akhello Witherspoon, formerly of the San Francisco 49ers, was signed in free agency by the Seattle Seahawks for one year and a salary of four million. Should Witherspoon remain fit, he should have the best chance to start. Tre Flowers, who is in the final year of his rookie contract, I don't think has much chance of getting much playing time. But for depth, Flowers is a decent backup who knows the system.

And then there is still the great unknown, who is not so unknown in Seattle: Richard Sherman. The rumours and reports about a possible signing of the veteran do not die down. And so it is quite conceivable that Richard Sherman could be added to this group and thus presumably be a clear regular for one to two years, provided he is physically fit. At the very least, that would probably make Tre Brown's rookie season a very uneventful one.

But at few positions like cornerback is the depth of the position group as important. D.J. Reed was picked up by the Seattle Seahawks via the waiver wire due to injury. Akhello Witherspoon played with multiple injuries last season by his own admission, playing 11 of a possible 16 games. And if a player like Richard Sherman were to be signed, there would have to be some injury susceptibility and down time factored in with him as well. For each of these cases, Tre Brown would be the "next man up".

See A Hawk: Tre Brown

Tre Brown

Tre Brown war ein sehr untypischer Pick im NFL Draft 2021 für die Seattle Seahawks, denn er verfügt nicht über die für die typischen Maße eines Outside Cornerbacks des Teams aus der Emerald City. Pete Carroll und John Schneider verkündeten der Öffentlichkeit jedoch, dass Sie mit Brown als Outside Cornerback planen. Die vergangene und gute Saison von D.J. Reed scheint den Verantwortlichen im Gedächtnis geblieben zu sein und weicht damit die sonst so strikten Anforderungen für einen Cornerback etwas auf.

Tre Brown gilt als selbstbewusst, liebt den Wettbewerb und ist nicht auf den Mund gefallen. Das wiederum klingt wieder sehr nach dem Anforderungsprofil an ehemalige Cornerbacks der Seattle Seahawks.

Cornerback Tre Brown

Kurzinfos:

  • College: Oklahoma
  • Alter: 23 (24.September 1997)
  • Größe: 178 cm
  • Gewicht: 83 kg
  • Armlänge:
  • Handgröße
  • Draft: 4. Runde, Pick #137

College-Statistiken (2020):

  • Spiele: 10
  • Tackles (Solo/Gemeinsam): 31 (25/6)
  • Tackles für Raumverlust: 1
  • Sacks: 0
  • Verteidigte Pässe: 6
  • Interceptions: 3

Werdegang

Tre Brown verbrachte vier Jahre an der University of Oklahoma, einem echten Powerhouse im College-Football. In seiner Zeit an der Universität verpasste Brown nur zwei von 52 möglichen Spielen. In den letzten beiden Spielzeiten konnte der Cornerback sich als Starter etablieren.

Am 14. Oktober 2018 starb Browns Mutter an Herzversagen. Wenige Tage später nach dem schmerzlichen Verlust kehrte Brown ins Team zurück und spielte am 20. Oktober 2018 im Spiel gegen die TCU. Er äußerte sich so, dass seine Mutter durch viele Dinge im Leben durchkommen musste, sie niemals lamentiert hat und den Kopf immer oben getragen hatte. Er sagte, dass seine Mutter es nicht anders gewollt hätte und er der Welt zeigen wollte, dass er die Stärke hat zu spielen. Durch diese Tragödie fand Brown neue Motivation sich selbst immer wieder an das Maximum zu bringen.

Videoanalyse

Tre Brown ist ein Cornerback der den Seattle Seahawks mit Erfahrung sowohl in Press- als auch in Off-Coverage weiterhelfen kann. In Press-Coverage ist Brown sehr gut, kann früh Kontakt aufnehmen und lässt sich auch von körperlich kräftigeren Wide Receivern nicht leicht schlagen. Er spielt “größer”, ist sehr aggressiv. Generell ist seine Deckungsarbeit zuverlässig, er ist oft sehr nah beim Gegenspieler und das auch über lange Distanz oder Dauer des Spielzugs. Brown verfügt über eine saubere Fußarbeit, bewegliche Hüften, die sich vor allem bei der Bewegung aus dem Backpedal in den Sprint (den sogenannten Break) bemerkbar macht, wenn er Spielzüge frühzeitig Underneath erkennt und dann seine Zone verlässt. Eine saubere Tackle-Technik rundet sein Profil ab.

Die geringe Körpergröße macht sich vor allem in Contested-Catch-Situationen bemerkbar. Hier hat Tre Brown Probleme am Fangpunkt des Balles. Diese Schwäche könnte man mit einer besseren Positionierung und verbessertem Timing kaschieren. Auch nimmt Brown, vermutlich um seine körperlichen Maße zu kompensieren, oft viel Kontakt zum Gegenspieler auf. Das ist grundsätzlich erstmal nicht schlimm, könnte aber in der NFL zu mehr Flaggen als im College führen. Hier muss er auf dem nächsten Level adjustieren. In der Unterstützung der Laufverteidigung ist Brown häufig überaggressiv, rennt damit sozusagen am Spielzug oder am Ballträger vorbei.

Größte Stärke

In der folgenden Szene sehen wir Tre Brown in Deckungsarbeit. Der Wide Receiver des gegnerischen Teams versucht eine Crossing-Route zu laufen. Brown ist in Press-Coverage und stört den Gegenspieler direkt an der Anspiellinie. Anschließend folgt er – mit zugegeben viel Kontakt, der in der NFL auch eine Strafe nach sich ziehen könnte – dem Gegenspieler eng. Beim Anspiel auf den Wide Receiver kann Brown seinen Arm vor den Gegenspieler bringen und den Pass abwehren.

Größte Schwäche

Um eine der Schwächen von Tre Brown aufzugreifen bediene ich mich diesmal mangels geeignetem Videomaterial an gefilmten Aufnahmen von der Senior-Bowl-Woche und den dort stattfindenden Trainingseinheiten. Hierbei ist zu beachten, dass die Drills die Wide Receiver massiv bevorzugen (Quarterback ohne Druck, Cornerback im Eins-gegen-Eins, keine Hilfe durch den Safety).

Tre Brown bringt es in der folgenden Wiederholung nicht fertig seinen Gegenspieler Nico Collins an der Anspiellinie zu stören. Dadurch kann Collins etwas Seperation kreieren. Im Laufe des Spielzuges kann Brown aufschließen. Im direkten Duell am Fangpunkt hat Brown aber gegen einen der besseren und physischen Receiver der diesjährigen Draft-Klasse schlicht keine Chance. Collins nutzt hier seine ganze Physis und seinen Größenvorteil aus und sichert den Ball in der Endzone. Spieler mit diesen Maßen werden in der NFL zuhauf auf Brown warten. Mit einer engeren Deckung oder besserem Timing in der Luft könnte er diese Schwäche kaschieren.

Fazit

Tre Brown wird in einer Cornerback-Gruppe der Seattle Seahawks, dessen Leistungsfähigkeit man wenig bis gar nicht einschätzen kann, um einen Stammplatz konkurrieren. Die besten Chancen auf einen der beiden Outside-Cornerback-Spots dürfte D.J. Reed haben, der diese Position in der zweiten Saisonhälfte der Saison 2020 gut bekleidete. Akhello Witherspoon, ehemals San Francisco 49ers, wurde in der Free Agency für ein Jahr und ein Gehalt von vier Millionen von den Seattle Seahawks verpflichtet. Sollte Witherspoon fit bleiben, so dürfte er die besten Chancen zu starten haben. Tre Flowers, der im letzten Jahr seines Rookie-Vertrages ist, rechne ich wenig Chancen auf viel Spielzeit aus. Doch für die Tiefe ist Flowers ein ordentlicher Backup, der das System kennt.

Und dann ist da noch immer die große Unbekannte, die in Seattle aber gar nicht so unbekannt ist: Richard Sherman. Die Gerüchte und Berichte rund um eine mögliche Verpflichtung des Veteran klingen nicht ab. Und so wäre es durchaus denkbar, dass Richard Sherman zu dieser Gruppe dazu geholt wird und damit mutmaßlich für ein bis zwei Jahre, bei körperlicher Fitness, klarer Stammspieler sein könnte. Das würde zumindest die Rookie-Saison von Tre Brown vermutlich zu einer sehr ereignisarmen Saison machen.

Doch auf kaum einer Position wie der des Cornerbacks ist die Tiefe der Positonsgruppe so wichtig. D.J. Reed wurde verletzt von den Seattle Seahawks über das Waiver Wire aufgenommen. Akhello Witherspoon spielte letzte Saison laut eigenen Aussagen mit mehreren Verletzung, spielte 11 von 16 möglichen Partien. Und sollte ein Spieler wie Richard Sherman verpflichtet werden, so muss bei ihm auch eine gewisse Verletzungsanfälligkeit und Ausfallzeit einkalkuliert werden. Für jeden dieser Fälle wäre Tre Brown der “Next Man up”.

Menü