The Rain City Redemption series is a series of films dealing with the Seattle Seahawks under Pete Carroll and the beginning of a new era after Mike Holmgren. The Seahawks' storybook rise from unimpressive NFL contender from the Pacific Northwest to one of the most dominant and feared franchises in the US professional league is summed up in grandiose fashion by creator William Cornell. Goosebumps are guaranteed when watching these films.

More information about the series is available on Facebook and Twitter.

Episode 1 - The Beginning of the Carroll Era

When Pete Carroll came to Seattle in 2010 to become head coach of the Seahawks, he was an extremely successful college coach with a mixed record in the NFL. Together with newly hired general manager John Schneider, he brought in running back Marshawn Lynch in a trade from the Buffalo Bills after Week 4 of the season. Hardly anyone could have guessed at the time how monumental this personnel decision would be for the franchise in transition.

Episode 2 - The Great Upheaval

The upheaval really started in 2011, when Pete Carroll and John Schneider began to completely rebuild the squad. Around 200 transactions later, only 16 players from the time under Jim Mora were still in the team before week 1 of the season. The changes were not immediately visible on the field. The Seahawks were criticised for a weak NFL Draft, stumbled early and missed the playoffs again. But they now had some diamonds in the rough on the team that would be crucial to success in the years to come.

Episode 3 - Russell Wilson and the Legion of Boom

One piece of the puzzle was still missing for the Seahawks heading into the 2012 season: the franchise quarterback. When the Seahawks signed playmaker Matt Flynn to a three-year contract in the offseason, it seemed that they had found one. But when he faced competition from Russell Wilson, selected 75th in the draft, and lost out to the rookie in a preseason face-off, the critics were once again loud. They quickly fell silent as Wilson steered his team more confidently through the league games from game to game.

After eight games (4-4), including a purely impressive home win over the New England Patriots, the Seahawks clicked. With a mix of dominant defence and physical running game, Seattle won five games in a row to end the regular season and entered the playoffs as the second-place team in the NFC West.

The two parts of episode 3 have meanwhile also been completely revised and published on YouTube(part 1, part 2), but they are partially blocked in Germany.

Episode 4 - The Vince Lombardi Trophy comes to Seattle

In the aftermath of their narrow and painful elimination in the Divisional Round of the 2012 postseason at the hands of the Atlanta Falcons, the players of the Seahawks agreed that they have the potential to be at the top in the new season. The chase for the first title in franchise history began with a preseason playoff exit and took the Pacific Northwest team all the way to MetLife Stadium in New Jersey.

Episode 5 - On the Way to Dynasty?

After the first Super Bowl title in franchise history, the Seahawks were on their way to dynasty the following year. Head coach Pete Carroll's players - all the pillars of the team had stayed - wanted to immortalise their dominance in the history books with a second Vince Lombardi Trophy win. It would be a historic postseason.

Die Rain City Redemption-Serie ist eine Reihe von Filmen, die sich mit den Seattle Seahawks unter Pete Carroll und dem Beginn einer neuen Ära nach Mike Holmgren beschäftigt. Der Bilderbuch-Aufstieg der Seahawks vom unscheinbaren NFL-Mitläufer aus dem Pacific Northwest zu einer der dominanten und gefürchteten Franchises in der US-amerikanischen Profiliga wird in grandioser Weise von Macher William Cornell zusammengefasst. Beim Schauen dieser Filme ist Gänsehaut garantiert.

Mehr Informationen zur Serie gibt es bei Facebook und Twitter.

Episode 1 – Der Beginn der Carroll-Ära

Als Pete Carroll 2010 nach Seattle kam, um Head Coach der Seahawks zu werden, war er ein extrem erfolgreicher College-Trainer mit durchwachsener Bilanz in der NFL. Gemeinsam mit dem neu verpflichteten General Manager John Schneider holte er nach Week 4 der Saison Runningback Marshawn Lynch per Trade von den Buffalo Bills. Kaum jemand konnte zu diesem Zeitpunkt ahnen, wie monumental diese Personalentscheidung für die sich im Umbruch befindende Franchise sein würde.

Episode 2 – Der große Umbruch

Der Umbruch ging 2011 so richtig los, als Pete Carroll und John Schneider damit begonnen, den Kader komplett umzubauen. Rund 200 Transaktionen später waren vor Woche 1 der Saison nur noch 16 Spieler aus der Zeit unter Jim Mora im Team waren. Auf dem Spielfeld waren die Änderungen nicht direkt sichtbar. Die Seahawks wurden für einen schwachen NFL Draft kritisiert, strauchelten früh und verpassten erneut die Playoffs. Doch sie hatten nun einige Rohdiamanten im Team, die entscheidend für den Erfolg der kommenden Jahre sein würden.

Episode 3 – Russell Wilson und die Legion of Boom

Ein Puzzleteil fehlte den Seahawks auf dem Weg in die Saison 2012 noch: der Franchise-Quarterback. Als die Verantwortlichen in der Offseason Spielmacher Matt Flynn mit einem Dreijahresvertrag nach Seattle holten, schien auch der gefunden zu sein. Als der durch den an 75. Stelle im Draft ausgewählten Russell Wilson Konkurrenz bekam und im direkten Duell in der Preseason dem Rookie unterlag, wurden erneut die Kritiker laut. Sie verstummten schnell, als Wilson sein Team von Spiel zu Spiel souveräner durch die Ligaspiele lenkte.

Nach acht Spielen (4-4), darunter rein beeindruckender Heimsieg über die New England Patriots, klickten die Seahawks. Mit einer Mischung aus dominanter Defensive und physischem Laufspiel gewann Seattle zum Ende der Regular Season fünf Spiele in Serie und zog als zweitplatziertes Team in der NFC West in die Playoffs ein.

Die zwei Teile der Episode 3 wurden inzwischen ebenfalls komplett überarbeitet und bei YouTube veröffentlicht (Teil 1, Teil 2), sie sind aber in Deutschland teilweise geblockt.

Episode 4 – Die Vince Lombardi Trophy kommt nach Seattle

Im Anschluss an das denkbar knappe und schmerzhafte Ausscheiden in der Divisional Round der Postseason 2012 bei den Atlanta Falcons waren sich die Spieler der Seahawks einig, dass sie das Potenzial haben, in der neuen Saison ganz oben mitzumischen. Die Jagd nach dem ersten Titel der Franchise-Geschichte begann mit dem Playoff-Aus in der Vorsaison und führte das Team aus dem Pacific Northwest bis ins MetLife Stadium nach New Jersey.

Episode 5 – Auf dem Weg zur Dynastie?

Nach dem ersten Super-Bowl-Titel der Franchise-Geschichte waren die Seahawks im Jahr danach auf dem Weg zur Dynastie. Die Spieler von Cheftrainer Pete Carroll – alle Säulen des Teams waren geblieben – wollten ihre Dominanz mit einem zweiten Gewinn der Vince Lombardi Trophy in den Geschichtsbüchern verewigen. Es würde eine historische Postseason werden.

Menü